Industry Updates

ETF Stream reveals shortlist for ETF awards

The inaugural awards will take place on 2 December

ETF Stream


ETF Stream has revealed the shortlist for its inaugural ETF awards on 2 December at the De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in London.

The awards will act as a barometer of success for the ETF industry with 16 carefully crafted categories giving firms from across the entire ecosystem a chance of winning.

Following a rigorous assessment of the nominations, the editorial team at ETF Stream including editor Tom Eckett and strategic adviser David Stevenson selected the shortlist.

Subsequently, the judging panel of 10 external experts from across the European ETF market analysed the submissions and cast votes to determine who will be the winner of each award.

The 10 judges are:

Irene Bauer, CIO, Algo-Chain

Matt Brennan, head of investment management, AJ Bell

Detlef Glow, Head of Lipper EMEA Research, LSE

Kenneth Lamont, senior analyst, passive strategies, Morningstar

James McManus, CIO, Nutmeg

Andrea Murray, head of business development, Blackwater Search & Advisory

Wayne Nutland, head of managed index solutions, Premier Miton

Tara O'Reilly, co-head of asset management and investment funds group, Arthur Cox

Athanasios Psarofagis, ETF analyst, Bloomberg Intelligence

Keshava Shastry, head of ETF committee, Investment Association

Sam Ridley, managing director at ETF Stream, commented: "We are very pleased to be announcing the shortlist for our inaugural awards. This year, we recognised 26 firms and 17 ETFs for their excellent performance and this quality is demonstrative of the high standards that have been set by the European ETF industry and all of its participants.

"I wish all of the shortlisted entries the best of luck and look forward to the awards ceremony where we will find out the winners and have an opportunity to celebrate afterwards."

The winners will be announced on 2 December. You can find out more about how to attend here.

Here in full is the shortlist for the ETF Stream Awards 2021:

ETF issuer of the year

  • Amundi

  • HSBC Asset Management

  • Invesco

  • Xtrackers by DWS

Best new ETF issuer (come to market after December 2017)

  • 21Shares

  • HANetf

  • Rize ETF

  • Tabula

ESG ETF issuer of the year

  • Amundi

  • Fidelity International 

  • HSBC Asset Management

  • Lyxor ETF

ETF launch of the year

ETF of the year

Most innovative ETF of the year

Fixed income ETF of the year 

Thematic ETF of the year 

Index provider of the year

  • MSCI

  • Qontigo (STOXX)

  • S&P Dow Jones Indices

  • Solactive

Market maker of the year

  • GHCO

  • Jane Street 

ETF administrator of the year 

  • HSBC Securities Services

  • State Street

Exchange of the year 

  • Deutsche Boerse

  • Euronext

ETF buyer of the year

  • AJ Bell

  • Nutmeg

  • Titan Asset Management

ETF data provider of the year

  • Bloomberg Intelligence

  • Morningstar

  • Ultumus

Best ETF educational content

  • Blackwater Search & Advisory

  • Lyxor

  • WisdomTree

Outstanding contribution to ETFs